Navigate to content

INCITS Names 2002 Award Winners from Industry and Government

Contact: Maryann Karinch
Karinch Communications

NCITS Names 2002 Award Winners from Industry and Government
International Standards Group Honors 15 People For Leadership In Developing Market-Driven Technology Standards

Washington, D.C. November 12, 2002 - The InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS) announced today the names of 15 standards professionals who are being honored for their leadership, consistent contributions, and technical excellence in standards development. At this time, more than 2,000 individuals participate in 52 INCITS standards development committees. INCITS recognizes achievement of these participants in five categories each year.

Chairman's Annual Award
This is an award of the INCITS Chair presented to a standards professional who has provided outstanding service to INCITS. This year the Chair, Hewlett-Packard's Karen Higginbottom, has bestowed the award on John Neumann of Open Strategies.

Higginbottom stated, "John has earned this award many times over due to his dedication to INCITS and success in creatively solving institutional problems. His long-term commitment to strengthening our technical committees, institutional memory, and 'the good of the organization' serve as a strong foundation for the vision and opportunities he brings to INCITS."

Merit Award
This award is presented to participants who have demonstrated continuous support for the work of INCITS. Among the award criteria are that the recipient must have served at least 10 years and on two or more international committees. This year's recipients are two delegates who represented Microsoft Corporation, Michael Deese and Michel Suignard; Donald F. Nelson, who recently retired from Hewlett-Packard; and Mike Rubinfeld of NIST, a government agency that has had ongoing participation in INCITS standardization activities for all 41 years of its existence.

Service Award This award goes to two participants who have provided outstanding service to the INCITS organization through committee work or duties. The 2002 recipients are Lisa Moore of IBM Corporation and Henry Tom, an individual contributor.

Gene Milligan Award for Effective Committee Management
This award recognizes individuals who, as officers of INCITS committees, have provided outstanding leadership to the group in its national and/ or international work, have demonstrated proficiency in achieving consensus in the national and/or international arenas and have followed the approved procedures in an exemplary fashion. This year's winners are Martin Boliek, Ricoh Innovations, Inc.; John Lohmeyer, LSI Logic Corporation; Kumar Malavalli, Brocade Communications; and George Penokie, IBM.

The award honors the memory of Gene Milligan, an exemplary technology expert from Seagate who displayed exceptional leadership as the Chair of several INCITS Technical Committees over his nearly two decades of involvement. Gene Milligan died in November 2000.

Technical Excellence
This award recognizes technical contributions and dedication to the technical program of work. It is presented with the endorsement of the Technical Committee officers. Recipients for 2002 are Ralph Weber, ENDL Texas; Steven Wilson, Brocade Communications; Dr. Michael Marcellin, University of Arizona; and Ken Whistler, Sybase. Whistler is the first person to receive the award three consecutive years.

The InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS) is the venue of choice for information technology developers, producers and users for the creation and maintenance of formal IT standards. INCITS is accredited by, and operates under rules approved by, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). These rules are designed to ensure that voluntary standards are developed by the consensus of directly and materially affected interests. Contact: INCITS Secretariat, Information Technology Industry Council (ITIC), 1250 Eye St. NW, Suite 200, Washington, DC 20005   ( .